Knitting Again

The First Vest is Finished

Posted on: November 8, 2010

The vest is finished!

I don’t like the way the neckline turned out but since my son is happy I’m going to leave it alone.

Pattern: A Combination of Gauge, Measuring My son and the patterns Ring Bearer Vest and Knit Kid’s Vest

Yarn: Cotton Worsted Weight (my son can’t wear wool)

Size: Approx an 8, made vest more in line with his measurements than the actual size in either of the patterns

Modifications:

  1. Only 2 rows of ribbing on the neckline and arm holes
  2. Only 2 inches of ribbing on the waist
  3. Length was based upon measurements of my son
  4. Width was based upon gauge and my son’s measurements
  5. Based arm holes on my son’s measurements instead of those indicated in either pattern
  6. Used worsted weight yarn (one pattern calls for dk)
  7. Avoided decreasing using the first stitch of any row

Pictures tomorrow if I”m able to get decent natural light.

2 Responses to "The First Vest is Finished"

Welcome back. Like that slide show below. I know what you mean about waiting for light, with Daylight Saving Time over, the opportunities are few and far between, especially where I am in the rain forest.

Glad to see you’re back on the blogosphere! Looking forward to your posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

