Knitting Again

Sweater Started and Pitiful Vest Pictures

Posted on: November 14, 2010

Finished Item
I’ve been wanting to get a good picture of the vest. Unfortunately, I either leave the camera at the office or I just forget. Finally, Friday, when my son wore the vest to school, I quickly grabbed the camera before we left. We were running behind and I told him we only had time for one quick picture. I happily snapped the picture and we went about our hectic day.

Later, when I decided to upload the picture, I realized I had taken the memory card out of the camera and the USB cord was at the office.

Soo…I had to figure out how to get the picture into my computer to be able to post it since he won’t be wearing it again for at least another week. I finally figured it out today.

Off To School He Goes

His father didn’t know I’d dressed him in the vest that morning. He was excited and took a picture of him at the barber shop wearing the vest. I asked my child why in the world he had on the vest with his gym clothes. He said, “…because I like the vest and I wanted to wear it all day.”

My husband made him take the vest off while he got a hair cut. Then he left it in the barbershop.  😦 Even though I don’t have the vest, I have a fuzzy phone picture of him wearing it in the shop.

He didn't want to take off the vest. Photo taken with car phone camera.

In the Barber Shop

Unfortunately for me, my gauge in stockinette worked in the round is noticeably different from my gauge when knitting stockinette back and forth. I don’t know how I didn’t see it before looking at it in the photographs. I will have to try to find a way to compensate in future projects.
 
Work in Progress
With the vest finished, I have begun a sweater for my son. Of course, now that I’m making my way through the sweater, I’m finally finding a few sweaters that are one color. This means I have less required knitting and can move on to knitting at least one thing for myself this year. Since, however, my son is so appreciative and willing to wear what I make, I’ll finish his sweater and continue to make things for him. I decided to be a part of the NaKniSweMo, though I don’t know how yet to put all the information up on my blog. I’ll figure it out sooner or later.
 

Progress as of Nov. 13

 
Up next for him is either a hat or another vest for school.

Up next for me…I haven’t decided yet.

3 Responses to "Sweater Started and Pitiful Vest Pictures"

Don’t you love it when they want to wear what you’ve knit? It’s such a compliment.

As for housework – well – like the poor, I fear, it will always be with us. At least it feels good when a marathon clean-up is over.

I’ve been reading lately and several authors have stated that you need to swatch in the round if you’re going to knit in the round. I need to remember that. However, my next project in the round will be a hat so that’s not too important for gauge.

My 20 yr old still wears a hat I knit for him years ago in early high school. He still puts in knitting “orders.” Very sweet.

Leave a Reply

