Knitting Again

Happy 2011!!!

Posted on: January 1, 2011

Happy New Year to you and yours. May it be full of love, peace, and joy!

I did not finish my son’s sweater before the year ended. I thought that I might, and I probably could have, but there were just other things going. It may be the first finished item of 2011, that or the super-sized coaster for my desk.

Huge Coaster that should accommodate my tea and my water while adding just a little smile to my day.

I finally unraveled the first sleeve on Sunday, the 26th but I don’t think I began knitting the sleeve again until the evening of the 27th. Then, I didn’t knit at all on the 28th. On the 29th, I thought I’d start on the 2nd sleeve but decided that even though the pattern called for a 9.5 inch sleeve, there was no way that was going to be a long enough sleeve for my child. I added more rows, about 5 inches worth.

On the afternoon of the 31st, I finally cast-on for the second sleeve. I knew the chances of me finishing it in the same day were minimal, but I wanted to try. I didn’t finish it. Instead, I was having some kind of allergic reaction and worried that I might need to go to the hospital on New Year’s Eve!

Do you know what hospitals are like on New Year’s Eve? I did not want to go. Fortunately, the doctor called me and gave me some instructions, by early afternoon today, most of the symptoms of the reaction were gone. I am now cast-less as the doctor instructed me to to cut off the cast!

The scars for the second surgery are ugly but not as hideous as I thought they would be. I’m feeling more like myself more quickly this time around, as the doctor said I would, in spite of the allergic reaction.

Sooo…once I finished the second sleeve this morning, I discovered that in my medicated haze I had knit it a few rows longer than the first sleeve. Rather than unravel those rows, I chose to add more to the first sleeve.  THEN, I decided to add more length to the body of the sweater.

I'm going to attach the sleeves, really...I am. I added a few more rows to the body after this photo was taken.

Am I avoiding attaching the sleeves? It’s definitely possible. I’m already debating about finishing up the coaster I started before attaching the sleeves, which is probably just fear again. I want to be finished with this sweater so that my son can wear it to school this week. Even if he doesn’t wear it on Monday I would like for him to have that option.

So, I need to just jump in and do it. I really wish I knew more about this sort of thing but my family does not knit. None of my friends knit either. I do have one aunt who knits but she doesn’t knit garments. I, therefore, don’t have memories of anyone knitting garments, no one has ever shown me how to put together garments, and I’ve never taken a class that involved putting together garments. I’m mostly a self-taught knitter and I really thought this would be a much simpler task than it its.

Maybe I’m making too much of this.

I guess I just don’t want to get it wrong. I don’t want to fail. I don’t want to just ruin it.

I’m going to do it, though. I’m going to attach the sleeves tonight. I’m going to stop making a mountain out of this mole hill. I’m going to conquer this silly fear. I’m going to keep learning and I’m going to be a better knitter when I’m done.

It’s a new year and this year I’m going to embrace challenges, in knitting, in health, and in life in general.

Happy New Year to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

