Knitting Again

One Sock Finished

Posted on: January 25, 2011

I still have not finished the monogrammed coaster. I can’t decide if I want to make a new chart, monogram a different letter, choose a picture, or if I want to just leave duplicate stitch to those with more patience than I. Maybe I’ll decide something and knock-it-out on Saturday.

I need to make a new chart.

I needed something else to knit, something different, but useful, that wasn’t as large as a sweater. I decided to knit socks. I had some Fixation I bought from Ewe Knit Kits years ago and began the Dayflower Socks. I finished one last night and will cast-on for the second sock today.

First Finished Dayflower Sock

 

First Dayflower from a Different Angle

I’m enjoying the lace socks. I’m not especially experienced in lace knitting and these socks are, therefore, not the best traveling project for me. I feel like I need to carry a small project with me now, one that doesn’t require constant attention to a pattern. Maybe I’ll go back to knitting baby hats. Scarves seem like they would be perfect for me but I don’t really wear scarves regularly. The scarves that do appeal to me are usually not the kind that are a simple pattern repeat. 

I’m trying to decide if I want to start the sweater sampler from Jacqueline Fee’s Sweater Workshop next. Even if I only get short bursts of time to knit, I believe that I can finish the second sock this weekend. I really need to make these educational pieces so that I’ll be ready to knit one of the dresses I’ve been scoping and planning.

In the meantime, I’ll be trying to finish the second sock so that I can wear them. The incisions are healing pretty well and I think I may actually be able to wear the socks without getting anything gross from my leg onto them.

I’m already trying to decide on the next sock. I think I like sock knitting more than I anticipated I would. Maybe I’ll even try a toe-up pattern.

4 Responses to "One Sock Finished"

I love the lace socks. Lace knitting always intimidated me until I knitted about a dozen dishcloths using lace designs. Go to Wal-Mart or Hobby Lobby for the cotton yarn. (or Joann’s) It’s easy to see the patterns when knitting the lace and if you make a mistake, it’s going in the dishwater anyway! And when I knit my first sock I was amazed at how easy it was.

I feel better about lace after these socks. I may tackle another lace sock before jumping into a shawl, just for extra comfort.

I agree with you about lace…I love it but it’s not good for traveling. The sock looks great! Hope you can finish the second one soon and get to wear them.

More lace is in my future but I’m taking baby steps.

Leave a Reply

